What do I already know:

- -The four countries of the UK are England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.
- -The four capital cities are London, Cardiff, Edinburgh and Belfast

Country	Flag	Capital City	Key Landmark	Key Rivers	High Ground
England		London	Stonehenge	Thames	Pennines
Scotland	×	Edinburgh	Ben Nevis	Tay	Grampian Mountains
Wales		Cardiff	Snowdon	Severn (also flows through England)	Cambrian Mountains
Northern Ireland	×	Belfast	Giant's Causeway	Bann	Sperrin Mountains

United Kingdom



Place names	Geographical terms and processes	Locational terms
Great Britain	coastline	offshore
Greater London	development	onshore
London Array	economy	scale bar
North Sea	energy source	
UK - the main cities,	industry	
counties and regions	landmark	
	sustainable development	

Glossary

economy: the wealth and resources of a place

development: how places and communities change

industry: the production of goods (such as cars) or services (such as tourism or entertainment)

sustainable development: change that respects the natural environment and doesn't harm future

generations

What will I be learning?

- Comparing the countries of the UK.
- The UK's major cities.
- Physical characteristics of the UK.
- The UK's landscape and people.
- Industries in the UK.
- Energy sources in the UK.

Key Knowledge

The United Kingdom includes England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Each country in the UK has a capital city: London (England), Edinburgh (Scotland), Cardiff (Wales) and Belfast (Northern Ireland).

The UK has many physical features, including mountain ranges, rivers and coastlines.

There are a number of ways power is generated in the UK. Energy can be generated at gas-fired power stations, by nuclear power and by burning coal.

There are also renewable power options that use the wind, sun or water to generate energy.